All Bodegas Iranzo produced wines are Vegan Friendly and Gluten Free

No animal byproducts or gluten-based fining agents or yeast are used in the processing of our wines.

What are fining agents?

Fining agents are used to improve the clarity of a wine and reduce the sediment. The fining agents added to the wine attract unwanted particles, then become heavy and settle at the bottom as sediment. The clear wine is then siphoned off the top. For many winemakers, it is the final step in giving the wine a beautiful, polished finish.

Fining agents are extracted from many sources and elements you may never think of as being added to wine. Common fining agents include hydrolyzed wheat gluten isolate, casein (milk protein), gelatin, egg whites, isinglass (made from the swim bladders of fish), and natural bentonite clay. All Natural Merchants wineries use only bentonite, a natural earth clay, in the fining process.

Those with wheat or gluten allergies, celiac disease, lactose intolerance, or who have chosen vegan lifestyles can feel comfortable in consuming our entire portfolio of wines.

Aren’t All Wines Gluten Free?

While it may seem that the answer would be an obvious yes, there are actually several sources of potential contact with wheat in wine production. Some oak barrels produced in Europe are sealed with wheat paste; certain yeasts added for fermentation are derived from wheat; and some wheat-based fining agents are used in production of some wines.

The current Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (TTB) regulations surrounding the gluten-free designation of wine requires that the winery “did not use additives, yeast, or storage materials that contained gluten.”

All of the wines produced by family owned and operated Bodegas Iranzo are either aged in steel tanks, or in oak barrels that are sealed without the use of wheat paste. The only fining agent used in wine production is the natural mineral bentonite clay, and only indigenous “wild yeasts” are used.